Surgery!

So I finally have a date for my hysterectomy. They just called to book it for me. I also have to go in a week before to meet with the anesthetist. I don’t recall ever having to do that before? Mind, I have only had 3 surgeries, and 6 procedures where I’ve been put under. Hmm that makes it sound wrong, oh so wrong. “She’s been a bad, bad girl, let’s put her under!” hehe

Tried to Google the doctor … no listing. :/ Not sure if that’s a good thing?

I am both very excited, and a bit nervous. May have to take my Always Keep Fighting shirt with me (If it gets her in time).

I know this will sound stupid coming from a forty plus year old woman, but it is going to be difficult to relax if I can’t find my teddy bear.

I’ll make this as short as I can …

Back before hubby and I were married, I had to have surgery on my foot. Hubby bought me a teddy to be with me (because he has a phobia of hospitals) when I was out of surgery (they let me take it in with me!).

Now, I have taken that thing with me to the hospital for any surgery or over night hospital stay, including when I was pregnant. Thing is, I passed it on to my son, and he has since out grown teddy bears, and has packed all of them away (or thrown them out), and so, I may not have my bear with me. :/

Yeah, it’s silly that a grown ass woman needs a bear, but it’s comforting!

And THAT is why I have some nerves about it. Stupid, and irrational I know. But it is what it is. I will get over it I suppose, and I do have a different teddy some where that hubby won for me awhile back. I can maybe dust it off for a one time use?

Besides not having my good luck comfort teddy bear, I am actually very excited for this to be done. I am so beyond ready to be done with all the health issues I have had from my uterus and ovaries attacking me. Mind you, I am keeping the ovaries, but they are going to remove the cyst(s) that are there. Yay!

Wow, a month until I am no longer a “real woman” (yes, I had one lady tell me that! HAHAHA Not insulted, just find that HILARIOUS!), like a uterus is what makes you a woman? I mean come on, there are other things BESIDES being able to pop out some squalling child, that makes a person a woman. Like boobs. 😀 (kidding, sort of.)

Now if you excuse me, I have a month to find me a bear! (and I need to do a happy dance…. And maybe lay off the coffee? Not helping my nerves at the moment.)

YAY! EEK! YAY! …. Oi!

This entry was posted in Anxiety, Health, Life. Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

