Felicia Day; A hero

Hear me out on this. I don’t necessarily mean she is everyone’s hero, but she sure as hell is to me!

My son (my personal hero) bought me her book (because “You bought me stuff all my life mom, I can do stuff for you ya know!”) and I don’t think I have EVER devoured a book as fast as I have this one! And to be honest? I am very sad I am done. Don’t think I have felt that way before?

This is a book I am going to force my husband and son to read even if I have to tie them up and torture them to get them to read it! (ok, partly joking) Honestly, I am NOT a very good writer, and I ramble a LOT but I can NOT say enough about this book.

Christ, if you know ANYTHING about me, you know I am lazy and have never reviewed anything in my life, even when I have had every intention of giving a review. I am pretty sure a HUGE portion of that is because it is very relatable. Well, not the smarts, energy, or famous parts. BUT the gaming, anxiety, depression, hell even thyroid problems!

I was lucky enough that when I started gaming being a girl was no biggie. Hell, I played the original duke and quake (not very well, I was more of an AOE and Warcraft gal. I kicked ASS), but once gaming became a “thing” to do online instead of LAN? I learned fast it was best to get out while the going was good. Plus by that time I had a kid (and a step) and gaming 20 hours a day probably wasn’t a good idea.

This book really made me feel like I was sitting down and listening to her tell me stories about her life. I wanted to hang out and have a coffee and hear more. The closer I got to the end, the faster I read, pretty sure I need to re-read just so I can catch-all I missed.

I sniffled (I don’t cry thankyouverymuch), and laughed, and just wanted to hug the hell out of her! (I am not a hugger, for the record).

I don’t think I have ever want to get anyone’s autograph or picture before, NOW I may just have to figure out a way to get her to sign my book!

Honestly? I didn’t think I could like her any more than I already did, I was wrong! I’d offer to lend the book out, because it is amazing, and you NEED to read it, BUT IT WILL NOT LEAVE MY HOUSE, EVER!!!  Get your own copy dammit.

Seriously though, AMAZING read!

Also? The more people I admire that talk about depression, and anxiety, and stuff? The less screwed up and helpless I feel. It’s like a warm blanket and a pat on the back, reminding me that I am NOT the only one who has this problem. Sort of a “Wait? What? SHE/HE has that TOO? Wow, ok, maybe I am NOT such a freak after all!”

I’ve never had a “girl crush” before … is it weird? *blush*

This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

